top of page

Why do we farm?

I'm a week in to interviews with farmers in Maryland, and every conversation is an inspiration. I'm impressed with the creativity and drive of the farmers I talk to. Those I've spoken to somehow find the energy to come home from a full time job and care for chickens, or the fortitude to keep going after a premature frost wipes out a crop before harvest. I want to know, as a farmer, what keeps you going? Why do you do it? One farmer asked me, "am I crazy? I think I must be."

Everyone has a different story of what led them to farming. Some have had steady careers in law or with the government prior to the farm; others found a passion to improve the world in studying environmental science. For first generation farmers, agriculture is a deliberate choice. Do these stories share a common theme?

Yet, regardless of background or career, a few challenges consistently emerge. "Money, money, money," as one farmer succinctly summarized. The solutions farmers find to this challenge are varied: from outside employment while they build the business, to loans and grants. Some see hope and success in the future of their business, others are less certain. I want to know: what kind of support would help farmers overcome this initial financial barrier?

I'm looking forward to learning more in the interviews to come.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page