top of page

First Generation Farmers: Myth or Reality?

How many first generation farmers are there? What percentage of the overall farming population do they represent? I've even been asked a few times if I really think there are any new farmers who don't come from a farming family. Unfortunately, there has not been a lot of research on first generation farmers to give us the answers, but you're probably here because you are a newcomer to agriculture, or you know someone who is. I've seen so much innovation and enthusiasm in the stories, business plans, and websites of first generation, beginning farmers that I've met, and I want to do more to shine the light on this emerging population of farmers. That is the inspiration for this research.

I've posted an online survey and we have our first 32 complete responses. Thank you to everyone who has taken it so far! I've been asked about how many responses I would like to get. It's difficult to set an exact goal, because nobody really knows exactly how many first generation, beginning farmers are practicing in the Netherlands and the U.S. mid-Atlantic, but based on some rough estimates, I'm aiming for around 75 responses from each country. Can you help me reach that goal?


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page